Announcing The 2009 Nobel Prize Winners


By Alexander Haimann, Collections Specialist

The Nobel Prize 1901 to 2001 stamp
© United States Postal Service. All rights reserved.

To celebrate the announcements of the 2009 Nobel Prizes, the National Postal Museum through its award winning virtual museum has created an online exhibit highlighting this year's winners and their accomplishments. The exhibit also showcases previous winners of the different Nobel Prizes who have been honored on U.S. postage stamps. This year's Nobel Prize winners included the first woman to be awarded the Nobel Prize in Economics and President Barack Obama, who became the third sitting American President to be awarded the Nobel Peace Prize. The first American man and woman, first African-American and the other two sitting Presidents to win Nobel Prizes are all featured in this exhibit.

Nobel Prize Winners of 2009

Alex Haimann

About the Author
Alexander T. Haimann, Collections Specialist & Web Projects Developer at the Smithsonian National Postal Museum, collects and writes primarily about the stamps and postal history of the U.S. during the first one hundred years of stamp production (1847-1947). Additionally, he develops internet based education projects and exhibits for the National Postal Museum. He is a member of the Board of Directors of the American Stamp Dealers Association, the Chair of the American Philatelic Society’s Young Philatelic Leaders Fellowship and the publicist for the United State Philatelic Classics Society. His national and international society memberships include the American Philatelic Society, United States Stamp Society, Collectors Club of New York and the Royal Philatelic Society London.