Featuring Research Volunteer Contributions


Stamps issued: 1997-PRESENT

refer to caption
58-centime La ceremonie du Madjiliss single

One of the Comoro Islands, Mayotte was occupied by France in 1841 and attached to the colony of Madagascar in 1911. The Comoros were separated from Madagascar in 1947 and began issuing their own stamps in 1950. Mayotte is claimed by the Comoros but administered by France. In 1976, the territory voted to become a territorial collectivity of France.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News

Precedent Country:

Stamps issued: 1892-1912

For period 1912-1997 see Madagascar, Comoro Islands and France

refer to caption
5fr Navigation and Commerce single

International Philately