Featuring Research Volunteer Contributions


Stamps issued: 1964-PRESENT

refer to caption
50-cent Zebras single

A republic in southeastern Africa, bordering on the Indian Ocean. Tanzania was formed with the union of Tanganyika and Zanzibar in 1964 as the United Republic of Tanganyika. In October 1965, the name was changed to the United Republic of Tanzania. Tanzania has maintained socialist policies at home and neutrality in its foreign affairs. Its relations with its two northern neighbors, Kenya and Uganda, have been strained. During 1978-79, clashes occurred with Uganda, culminating in a successful Tanzanian invasion, which overthrew Ugandan dictator Idi Amin. The infusion of large numbers of refugees from the civil war in Rwanda have taxed Tanzanian resources since 1994. In 1995 Tanzania had its first multiparty elections.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News

Precedent Countries:

Stamps issued: 1895-1967

refer to caption
10r Dhow single

A group of islands off the coast of Tanganyika in East Africa. An important trading center, Zanzibar was occupied at various times by the Portuguese and Arabs, the latter establishing a powerful state in East Africa when the sultan of Muscat moved his capital to Zanzibar in the 18th century. In 1885, the sultanate's mainland possessions were divided between Germany, Great Britain and Italy. In 1890, the islands were placed under British protection. On Dec. 10, 1963, Zanzibar became independent, and in January 1964, the sultan was deposed. The new regime ousted British and Americans and slaughtered thousands of Arab residents. In April 1964, Zanzibar joined with Tanganyika to form the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar, renamed Tanzania in 1965.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News


Stamps issued: 1961-1962

For period 1935-1961 see Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania

refer to caption
50-cent Serengeti Lions single

The major portion of the former German East Africa colony, placed under British administration after World War I. A part of Kenya, Uganda and Tanganyika after 1935, it became independent on Dec. 9, 1961. In 1964, it merged with Zanzibar to become the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar, renamed Tanzania in 1965.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News


Stamps issued: 1919-1935

refer to caption
£1 Giraffe single

Stamps issued: 1893-1919

refer to caption
3r Kaiser's Yacht Hohenzollern single

A former German colony in eastern Africa, on the Indian Ocean. The area was long dominated by the Arab Sultanate of Zanzibar, but German influence in the region was recognized after 1886. Stamps for the colony were in use from 1893 to 1916. After World War I, the colony was divided into Tanganyika (British), Ruanda-Urundi (Belgian) and Kionga (Portuguese).

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News

International Philately