Featuring Research Volunteer Contributions


Stamps issued: 1958-PRESENT

refer to caption
2-franc African Crocodiles single

Republic in western Equatorial Africa, north of the Congo region. Gabon was one of the four French colonies making up French Equatorial Africa. In 1958, Gabon became a republic and, in 1960, gained independence from France. Gabon possesses abundant natural resources, and through foreign aid and government development, it has become one of the most prosperous Black African nations.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News

Precedent Countries:

Stamps issued: 1934-1958

refer to caption
3.60-franc Gabon Forest single

The French possessions north of the Congo River, formerly included in the French Congo. Stamps inscribed French Equatorial Africa were used from 1936 to 1958, when the area was divided into four republics — Chad, Congo, Gabon and Central African Republic — which have since issued their own stamps.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News


Stamps issued: 1886-1934

refer to caption
5-franc Fang Woman single

Stamps issued: 1891-1906

refer to caption
75c Bakalois Woman single

The territory occupied by France, north of the Congo River, at times including Gabon, Ubangi and Chad, as well as the area now included in the Congo People's Republic. The French Congo issued stamps from 1891 until 1906 when the administrative area was broken up into the separate colonies of Gabon and Middle Congo.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News

International Philately