Featuring Research Volunteer Contributions

Burkina Faso

Stamps issued: 1959-PRESENT

refer to caption
70-franc Traditional Houses Mossi single

A landlocked republic in the Savannah region of West Africa, formerly the French colony of Upper Volta, bounded by the states of Mali, Niger, Benin, Togo, Ghana and Ivory Coast. Following a 1983 coup d'etat, Upper Volta's name was changed to Burkina Faso on Aug. 4, 1984. The name is a transliteration of indigenous words meaning "country of incorruptible men." The first stamps bearing the new name were in an airmail set issued on May 23, 1984.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News


Precedent Countries:

Stamps issued: 1958-1984

For period 1933-1958 see French Sudan, Ivory Coast, and Niger

refer to caption
25-franc Great Waterfall of Banfora single

Stamps issued: 1920-1933

Prior to 1919 see Upper Senegal and Niger

refer to caption
20-franc Hausa Warrior single


International Philately