Featuring Research Volunteer Contributions


Stamps issued: 1962-PRESENT

refer to caption
4p Zouave Bugler and Map of Jamaica single

A self-governing dominion in the British Commonwealth of Nations occupying the island of Jamaica in the West Indies, south of Cuba. Jamaica was discovered by Columbus in 1494 and was occupied by Spain until 1655, when it became a British possession. The original Arawak inhabitants soon died out under the Spanish, who began the importation of African slaves to work the sugar plantations. Jamaica became an independent republic on Aug. 6, 1962. Economic dissatisfaction brought a socialist regime to power 1972-80. Attempts to expand Jamaican ownership in bauxite mining operations and to expand welfare programs failed to improve the economy, and a more conservative government came to power. This has resulted in improved relations with the United States and in economic growth since the 1980s.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News

Precedent Country:

Stamps issued: 1860-1962

refer to caption
6p Port Royal in 1853 single

International Philately