Featuring Research Volunteer Contributions


Stamps issued: 1963-PRESENT

refer to caption
75c Malaysian Girl with Sheaves of Rice single

Federation within the British Commonwealth. Malaysia was formed Sept. 16, 1963, with the union of the former British territories of the Federation of Malaya, Singapore (until 1965), Sarawak and Sabah (North Borneo). Malaysia is rich in natural resources and has enjoyed substantial industrial development since independence.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News

Precedent Countries:


refer to caption
30c Map of Federation single


refer to  caption
12c Murut with Blowgun single

Former British colony, occupying the northeast portion of the island of Borneo in the Malay Archipelago. The area of North Borneo was ruled by the sultans of Brunei from the 16th century, until the reigning sultan ceded it to American and British traders in 1872. In 1881 the British North Borneo Company was established to administer the region. North Borneo was occupied by Japan from 1942 to 1945, and after its reoccupation by Britain, it was reorganized as a colony. Renamed Sabah, British North Borneo joined with Malaya, Sarawak and Singapore to form the Malaysian Federation in 1963.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News


refer to caption
3c Sir James Brooke single

A state on the northwestern coast of Borneo. In 1893, the area was ceded to Sir James Brooke by the sultan of Brunei. Sarawak remained an independent state until 1888, when it accepted British control of its foreign affairs. The Brooke dynasty ruled until 1946, when the last rajah ceded Sarawak to Britain. In 1963, the colony joined with Malaya, Singapore and Sabah (North Borneo) to form the Federation of Malaysia.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News



refer to caption
$25 Elephants and Howda single

A group of native states in the south portion of the Malayan Peninsula in southeast Asia, under British protection. The federated states were Perak, Selangor, Negri Sembilan and Pahang. In 1935, the federation issues were replaced by those of the individual states. In 1945, the Federated Malay States were incorporated into the Malayan Union.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News



After 1906 see Singapore, Straits Settlements

refer to caption
Overprint on 1c stamp of North Borneo single

An island off the northwest coast of Borneo. Labuan was ceded by Brunei to Britain in 1848 and administered by the British North Borneo Company from 1890 to 1906. In 1907, Labuan was attached to the Straits Settlements and, after 1945, to British North Borneo (Sabah).

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News

International Philately