Featuring Research Volunteer Contributions


Stamps issued: 1990-PRESENT

refer to caption
30k 54th Anniversary of Independence single

In 1989, the military government renamed Burma the Union of Myanmar. In 1990, the country's first multiparty elections in 30 years resulted in a clear victory for the opposition, but the military refused to step down. The regime has continued to harass its opponents and is under U.S. economic sanctions.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News

Precedent Countries:

Stamps issued: 1948-1989

refer to caption
15p Rice Farmer single

Following independence, Burma maintained a nationalistic policy of socialism, restricting the economic and political freedoms of its people, especially non-Burman minorities. In 1989 the name of the country was changed to Myanmar.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News


Stamps issued: 1937-1948

Prior to 1937 see India

refer to caption
Overprint on 25r stamp of India single

A republic in southeast Asia. Burma was a part of British India until 1937, when it became a separate territory under Britain. Occupied by Japan 1942-45, Burma was reoccupied by Britain, which granted independence on Jan. 4, 1948.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News

refer to caption
Overprint on 3a6p stamp of India single

International Philately

Related Content