Featuring Research Volunteer Contributions


Stamps issued: 1973-PRESENT

refer to caption
4c Amatai Fishing Boat single

A small island in the South Pacific Ocean, administered by New Zealand as part of the Cook Islands. Penrhyn was annexed by Britain in 1888 and placed under New Zealand in 1901. Cook Islands stamps were used in Penrhyn prior to 1902 and from 1932 to 1973. Since 1973, stamps inscribed "Penrhyn Northern Cook Islands" have been in use on the island and on six neighboring islands.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News

Precedent Country:

Stamps issued: 1902-1932

For period 1932-1973 see Cook Islands

refer to caption
6p Arorangi Village Rarotonga single

International Philately