The Crime, the Victims, and the Legacy


logo: 100 Year Anniversary Tragedy at Tunnel 13 October 11, 1923 - October 11, 2023

A consortium of organizations and individuals convened in 2023 to create programming to mark the centennial of the tragic loss of four lives during the holdup and robbery attempt on Train 13 at Tunnel 13 near Ashland, Oregon, on October 11, 1923.

This virtual exhibition was curated through the collaboration of Lynn Heidelbaugh of the National Postal Museum; Melissa Queen with the US Postal Inspection Service; and Anna Sloan of the Southern Oregon Historical Society. The site was produced by Bill Lommel of the National Postal Museum. The logo for this virtual exhibition is a variation of a 2023 pictorial postmark designed by retired U.S Postal Inspector Dan Mihalko in commemoration of the centennial.

The consortium includes:

  • Black Butte Center for Railroad Culture logo
    Black Butte Center for Railroad Culture:
    Bruce Shoemaker, board member; North Bank Fred, webmaster

  • United States Fish and Wildlife Service seal
    Clark R. Bavin National Fish and Wildlife Forensics Laboratory:
    Barry Baker, Deputy Laboratory Director; Ed Espinoza, Criminalistics Section Chief

  • Jefferson Public Radio logo
    Jefferson Public Radio’s Underground History Podcast:
    Angela Decker, senior producer; Charlie Zimmerman, producer; Chelsea Rose, host; Geoffrey Riley, Host/Asst. Producer, The Jefferson Exchange; Calena Reeves, Audience & Business Services Coordinator

  • Oregon Public Broadcasting logo
    Oregon Public Broadcasting:
    Kami Horton, documentary writer / producer

  • Railway Workers United logo
    Railway Workers United:
    Brian Lewis, railroad conductor and RWU member

  • Smithsonian’s National Postal Museum logo
    Smithsonian’s National Postal Museum:
    Lynn Heidelbaugh, curator; Bill Lommel, web editor

  • Southern Oregon Historical Society logo
    Southern Oregon Historical Society:
    Anna Sloan, curator; Larry Mullaly, board member; Catherine Venegas, volunteer; Emma Walruff, volunteer; Jan Wright, archivist

  • Southern Oregon Railway Historical Society logo
    Southern Oregon Railway Historical Society:
    Jerry Hellinga

  • Southern Oregon University Laboratory of Anthropology logo
    Southern Oregon University Laboratory of Anthropology (SOULA):
    Chelsea Rose, director; Katie Johnson, archaeologist

  • United States Postal Inspection Service seal
    United States Postal Inspection Service:
    Melissa Queen, historian; Dan Mihalko, retired postal inspector

  • United States Postal Service logo
    United States Postal Service:
    William Schwartz, district manager ID-MT-OR; Kirsten Sherrell, workforce operations planning; Kim Frum, strategic communications specialist ID-MT-OR-WA