Pioneering Women and Early Government Leaders

Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Lucretia Mott, and Carrie Catt

3-cent Progress of Women stamp
The Progress of Women stamp, issued on July 19, 1948, depicts the well-known woman’s rights and suffrage leaders Carrie Catt, Lucretia Coffin Mott and Elizabeth Cady Stanton.

Women such as Elizabeth Cady Stanton (1815-1902), Lucretia Mott (1793-1880) and Carrie Catt (1859-1947) were dedicated abolitionists who helped begin the Women’s Rights Movement. In 1848, Stanton and Mott organized the first woman’s rights convention in Seneca Falls, New York, beginning the first steps to ensuring an equal place for women in America. Catt continued their work in the late 19th and early 20th centuries as the president of the National American Women Suffrage Association. The activists who fought to guarantee these natural rights at times faced strong opposition, yet the movement continued to grow and achieve new goals.

The Progress of Women stamp was issued on the centennial year of the Seneca Falls Convention. The convention was a pinnacle moment in the early years of the women’s rights movement in America. The 1848 convention brought together female activists to discuss the legal limitations of women’s rights, proclaiming that all men and women were equal.