Patricia Kaufmann

Research Volunteer

Patricia A. (Trish) Kaufmann began collecting Confederate postal history in 1966 and quickly became engrossed in exhibiting, writing and research. She served as editor of "The Confederate Philatelist", official publication of the Confederate Stamp Alliance from 1970-1987. In March 2006, she was appointed Associate Editor of "The Confederate Philatelist", partially renewing that duty. In October 2006, she was appointed Editor-in-Chief of the forthcoming "Confederate States Catalog and Handbook", last published in 1986 as the "New Dietz Confederate States Catalog and Handbook". The publication goal is 2010.

In 1973, she was hired by John Kaufmann and, together with him, formed the Washington, D.C. philatelic auction house of John W. Kaufmann, Inc. of which she served as Vice-president until John's death in 1988 when she took over as President. She closed the auction doors in 1989, but today remains a full time dealer specializing in Confederates.

She has written innumerable philatelic research articles for a variety of national publications and is currently writing a monthly column "The Confederate Post" for "The American Stamp Dealer". Trish was the first woman and the youngest person ever bestowed the permanent honorary title of "General" in the Confederate Stamp Alliance (1985) and has won the CSA Haydn Myer Award for service to the Alliance twice. She has won numerous other awards including Grand Awards in national philatelic competition with both her Confederate and Classic Valentine collections. She has served on the board of directors of the American Philatelic Research Library (the first female member), the Society of Philatelic Americans, the World Stamp Expo Advisory Board to the U.S. Postal Service, and numerous other organizations. She has been the Recording Secretary and a voting member of the CSA Authentication Service since 1996, as well as the current Vice President of the Confederate Stamp Alliance. She has been nominated as the first female president of the Alliance for the 2008-09 term.

Published circa 2009.